How do I obtain a License to Carry Firearms?
In 1998, Massachusetts changed Chapter 140 of the Massachusetts General Laws. If you have a pretty clean criminal record, no substance abuse history, no crime of violence history and are of sound mind, you may apply for a LTC. An applicant for a License to Carry must have completed a recognized safe handling of firearms course. A certificate will be issued to you from the certified course instructor. Once the course is completed, schedule an appointment by calling 978-632-5600 or stop by the lobby at Police Headquarters to make an appointment. On the day of your appointment, bring a completed copy of your application, $100 cash and your certificate of course completion. You will be fingerprinted and photographed, and if approved, your license will be ready in approximately 4 weeks. An FID card has similar requirements. All requirements and fees are posted in the lobby.License to Carry Application (PDF)

Show All Answers

1. I was involved in an accident. Do I have to report it?
2. If I have been involved in an accident, what should I do now?
3. If involved in an accident, do I have to complete an accident report?
4. When does the accident report have to be finished?
5. How do I get a restraining order?
6. What can I do about the annoying or harassing phone calls I have been receiving?
7. How do I report a crime or suspicious activities?
8. How do I obtain a License to Carry Firearms?